• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Special Interest Seminar: Pocket Guns

The dirty little secret in defensive handgunning, is that even the gurus at times slip a small gun in the pocket for those times where a full-sized gun just isn’t viable. With this in mind, we are going to train with these guns for a hard 6 hours, pushing their capabilities and exploring “pocket gun” tactics. The gun should be a center-fire pistol caliber of .32 or larger and be able to fit into the front pocket of a pair of blue jeans, (relaxed fit for some of us). While we will also train from traditional belt holsters, bring your fanny packs, and an old vest or old jacket we can shoot through the pocket and destroy. 200 rounds of ammunition is required to complete the course.

Prerequisite: Level 2: Defensive Handgunor higher.


Special Interest Seminars put in-depth focus on individual components and ancillary aspects of defensive firearms use. Seminar emphasis is on skill building and repetition, that the student may gain an appreciable degree of proficiency in the specified skill. The special interest seminars review and refine skills taught in our weekend courses, and are offered to provide the chance to practice specific skills, without having to spend the time to go through an entire weekend class.

These one-day, 6-hour seminars are designed for students to practice what they already have been taught in the prerequisite F.A.S. class, but perhaps have not practiced for a while. They are NOT designed to be stand-alone training. If you have not met the pre-requisites listed for each class, please do not ask for a waiver of the pre-requisite, but rather, please consider taking the class listed as the prerequisite, as it contains instruction on the topics contained in the Special Interest Seminar, plus lots more.

Seminar Date: Sept. 16, 2017

TUITION: $135
Register Now


Equipment List:

  1. A center-fire pistol caliber of .32 or larger that you can fit into the front pocket of a pair of trousers. Any speedloaders or magazines you have for your pocket gun
  2. A belt holster, plus your fanny pack if you use one, and an old vest or old jacket we can shoot through the pocket and destroy
  3. 200 rounds of full-metal jacketed or jacketed hollowpoint ammunition
  4. Ear protection and wrap-around safety glasses (eye protection)
  5. A billed baseball cap
  6. Sandwich or snack to be eaten on a very quick lunch break

Classes Starting On

Sat Feb 11, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Feb 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 25, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Feb 25, 2017
Handgun Retention
Sun Feb 26, 2017
Mini Baton/Pepper Spray
Sat Mar 04, 2017
Emergency Treatment of Gunshot Wounds & Related Trauma
Sun Mar 05, 2017
Shot Placement and Considerations for Deadly Encounters
Sat Mar 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Mar 25, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Apr 01, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sun Apr 02, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Moving Targets/Moving Shooters
Sat Apr 08, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Apr 15, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Apr 15, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Tune Up
Sat Apr 22, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat May 06, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat May 06, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat May 13, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat May 20, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat May 20, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 03, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Mon Jun 05, 2017
Weeklong Handgun
Sat Jun 10, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 10, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Weak Hand Shooting
Sat Jun 24, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Mon Jun 26, 2017
F.A.S. Handgun Instructor Development
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Wounded/Downed Defender
Fri Jul 07, 2017
IDPA Boot Camp
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Jul 22, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Jul 29, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 05, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Aug 19, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Sep 09, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Pocket Guns
Sun Sep 17, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Sep 23, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Fri Sep 29, 2017
Level 4 Handgun
Sat Sep 30, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Oct 07, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Oct 14, 2017
Shot Placement and Considerations for Deadly Encounters
Sun Oct 15, 2017
Emergency Treatment of Gunshot Wounds & Related Trauma
Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 11, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Dec 02, 2017
Defensive Handgun

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Computer Connections