• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Level 2: Defensive Handgun

Two days of combined classroom and range instruction, teaching the armed citizen or entry-level police officer the techniques of defensive handgunning.

Classroom topics for Level 2: Defensive Handgun include:
Gun Safety and Range Safety
Legal Considerations in Use of Deadly Force
Crime Awareness and Pre-Attack Indicators
Aftermath Issues (Interacting with Police)
Role Play Interacting with Police

Range Instruction for Defensive Handgun includes:
Defensive Draw Stroke
Defensive Draw Stroke from Concealment
Handgun Accuracy Relating to Self Defense
Malfunctions and Speed Reloading
Low Light Shooting
Moving and Shooting
Shooting at Moving Targets
Shoot-Don’t Shoot Scenarios

Prerequisite: Please consult the course descriptions for Handgun Safety Seminar, Fundamentals of Home Defense and Concealed Carry 101 before enrolling in Defensive Handgun. While students are welcome to start their training with the Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. at Level Two, they must have a firm grasp and understanding of the curriculum of our Level One courses.

Student will be required to present a state-issued license to carry a concealed handgun, military or police identification or other form of background check prior to participation.

Women who are pregnant or nursing may not participate in live-fire training, due to risks from lead exposure and loud noise. Student must supply own handgun and other gear as specified in equipment list below.

Class Dates:
October 28-29, 2017
March 24-25, 2018
June 23-24, 2018
August 4-5, 2018
Oct. 27-28, 2018


TUITION: $385
Register Now

Level 2: Defensive Handgun Equipment List
  1. Your own handgun of .380 caliber or larger.
  2. Three magazines or speedloaders, plus a belt holder or pouch for them.
  3. A belt holster suitable for concealed carry, which allows one handed re-holstering and prevents the muzzle from pointing at student’s own body while re-holstering. Inside the waistband appendix carry holsters are specifically forbidden in F.A.S. classes.
  4. 400 rounds of full metal jacket (FMJ) ammunition.
  5. Ear protection and wrap-around safety glasses (eye protection).
  6. A billed baseball cap.
  7. Push-button activated flashlight.
  8. A pen and notebook.
  9. Your lunch and beverages--we will eat during classroom lecture.

Classes Starting On

Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101-Class Full!
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Handgun Retention-Class Full!
Sun Nov 05, 2017
Advanced Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 17, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 24, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Mini Baton/Pepper Spray
Sun Mar 11, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Mar 24, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Mar 31, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Apr 14, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Apr 28, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat May 05, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun May 06, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sun May 13, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri Jun 01, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sun Jun 10, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Jun 23, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Fri Jul 06, 2018
IDPA Boot Camp
Sun Jul 15, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Moving Targets/Moving Shooters
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Aug 05, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Aug 18, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 25, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Sep 08, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri Sep 14, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 22, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sun Sep 30, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Tune Up
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sun Oct 07, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Oct 20, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Oct 21, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 27, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 03, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sun Nov 04, 2018
Advanced Handgun Retention

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Images by Murray