• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Level 1: Fundamentals of Home Defense

This one-day class is specifically designed for the Handgun Safety Seminar graduate who keeps a handgun at home for self-defense, but does not necessarily carry it in public.

Classroom subject matters include safe storage of handguns, home security, bullet penetration in modern house construction, children and guns, interacting with home intruders and interacting with police.

The shooting component of this class will include safe gun handling, skills to improve accuracy, introductions to use of cover shooting, strong hand only shooting, distances out to 10 yards, low light shooting and use of flashlight.

Prerequisites: Completion of the Firearms Academy's Handgun Safety Seminar, no exceptions. Students in this class will be required to sign a statement that they are legally entitled to own handguns prior to participation.

Class Dates:
Sept. 30, 2017
March 3, 2018
May 5, 2018
August 4, 2018
October 20, 2018

TUITION: $185

Register Now

Fundamentals of Home Defense Equipment List
  1. Your home defense handgun
  2. Two magazines or speedloaders
  3. 150 rounds of full metal jacket (FMJ) or jacketed hollow point (JHP) ammunition per student.
  4. Ear protection and wrap-around safety glasses (eye protection)
  5. A billed baseball cap
  6. Flashlight with push button activation (on/off switch)
  7. A pen and notebook
  8. Your lunch and beverages--we will eat during classroom lecture.

Classes Starting On

Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101-Class Full!
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Handgun Retention-Class Full!
Sun Nov 05, 2017
Advanced Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 17, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 24, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Mini Baton/Pepper Spray
Sun Mar 11, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Mar 24, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Mar 31, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Apr 14, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Apr 28, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat May 05, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun May 06, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sun May 13, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri Jun 01, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sun Jun 10, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Jun 23, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Fri Jul 06, 2018
IDPA Boot Camp
Sun Jul 15, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Moving Targets/Moving Shooters
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Aug 05, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Aug 18, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 25, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Sep 08, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri Sep 14, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 22, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sun Sep 30, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Tune Up
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sun Oct 07, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Oct 20, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Oct 21, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 27, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 03, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sun Nov 04, 2018
Advanced Handgun Retention

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Images by Murray