• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Level 1: Fundamentals of Home Defense

This one-day class is specifically designed for the Handgun Safety Seminar graduate who keeps a handgun at home for self-defense, but does not necessarily carry it in public.

Classroom subject matters include safe storage of handguns, home security, bullet penetration in modern house construction, children and guns, interacting with home intruders and interacting with police.

The shooting component of this class will include safe gun handling, skills to improve accuracy, introductions to use of cover shooting, strong hand only shooting, distances out to 10 yards, low light shooting and use of flashlight.

Prerequisites: Completion of the Firearms Academy's Handgun Safety Seminar, no exceptions. Students in this class will be required to sign a statement that they are legally entitled to own handguns prior to participation.

Class Dates:
March 25, 2017-Sorry! Class Full!
May 6, 2017
July 22, 2017
Sept. 30, 2017

TUITION: $185

Register Now

Fundamentals of Home Defense Equipment List
  1. Your home defense handgun
  2. Two magazines or speedloaders
  3. 150 rounds of full metal jacket (FMJ) or jacketed hollow point (JHP) ammunition per student.
  4. Ear protection and wrap-around safety glasses (eye protection)
  5. A billed baseball cap
  6. Flashlight with push button activation (on/off switch)
  7. A pen and notebook
  8. Your lunch and beverages--we will eat during classroom lecture.

Classes Starting On

Sat May 06, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction-Class Full!
Sat May 06, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat May 13, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat May 20, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar-Class Full!
Sat May 20, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 03, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Jun 03, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Mon Jun 05, 2017
Weeklong Handgun
Sat Jun 10, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 10, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Weak Hand Shooting
Sat Jun 24, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Wounded/Downed Defender
Fri Jul 07, 2017
IDPA Boot Camp
Sun Jul 09, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Jul 22, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Jul 29, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 05, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Aug 12, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 26, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Sep 09, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Pocket Guns
Sun Sep 17, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Sep 23, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Fri Sep 29, 2017
Level 4 Handgun
Sat Sep 30, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Oct 07, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Oct 14, 2017
Shot Placement and Considerations for Deadly Encounters
Sun Oct 15, 2017
Emergency Treatment of Gunshot Wounds & Related Trauma
Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Advanced Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 11, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Dec 02, 2017
Defensive Handgun

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Computer Connections