• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun

Speed comes from smoothness (and turning on the afterburners). This special interest seminar is the most action-packed, full of smoke-and-brass seminar we teach. At completion, the student should be able to do one second draws, double taps in a quarter of a second, and engage 3 targets from the holster in under 2 seconds. Not only pushing the envelope for speed, but also acceptable accuracy, with emphasis on A-zone hits for all shots fired. Bring handgun, a Kydex (such as Blade-Tech) or other outside the belt holster, and 500 rounds of FMJ ammunition, and at least 5 magazines, eye and ear protection and a billed cap.


These one-day, 6-hour seminars are designed for students to practice what they already have been taught in the prerequisite F.A.S. class, but perhaps have not practiced for a while. They are NOT designed to be stand-alone training. If you have not met the pre-requisites listed for each class, please do not ask for a waiver of the pre-requisite, but rather, please consider taking the class listed as the prerequisite, as it contains instruction on the topics contained in the Special Interest Seminar, plus lots more.

Special Interest Seminars put in-depth focus on individual components and ancillary aspects of defensive firearms use. Seminar emphasis is on skill building and repetition, that the student may gain an appreciable degree of proficiency in the specified skill. The special interest seminars review and refine skills taught in our weekend courses, and are offered to provide the chance to practice specific skills, without having to spend the time to go through an entire weekend class.

Prerequisite: Level 2: Defensive Handgun.

Seminar Date: July 15, 2017

TUITION: $135

Register Now

Classes Starting On

Sat Jul 01, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Wounded/Downed Defender
Fri Jul 07, 2017
IDPA Boot Camp-Class Full
Sun Jul 09, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Jul 22, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Jul 29, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 05, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Aug 12, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 26, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Sep 09, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Sep 17, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Fri Sep 29, 2017
Level 4 Handgun-Class Full!
Sat Sep 30, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Oct 07, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Oct 14, 2017
Shot Placement and Considerations for Deadly Encounters
Sun Oct 15, 2017
Emergency Treatment of Gunshot Wounds & Related Trauma
Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Handgun Retention
Sun Nov 05, 2017
Advanced Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 11, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Dec 02, 2017
Defensive Handgun

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Images by Murray