• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Level 1: Concealed Carry 101

Concealed Carry 101 was born out of the need to quickly and efficiently get students "up and running" with self-defense and concealed carry handgun skills. Information covered in this class includes: holster selection and carry methods, drawing from concealment, concealed carry wardrobe options, reloading and malfunction clearing, ammunition selection, and a variety of marksmanship skill building drills.

Our affordable Handgun Safety Seminar, a very popular program introduced in 2002, teaches the laws and Use of Force doctrine that is an inseparable part of the topic of carrying guns for self-defense. Thus, the Handgun Safety Seminar is a non-negotiable prerequisite for Concealed Carry 101, even for registrants who have participated in other gun safety programs. We recommend that you to wait to enroll in Concealed Carry 101 (or any of our classes!) until you have completed the Handgun Safety Seminar, so you can benefit from an instructor's guidance about which class will best meet your training needs as your skills may exceed the basics taught in this class, making you a better candidate for Defensive Handgun class.

Students must provide their own handgun, a range or concealment holster of good quality (if you need to purchase one, we recommend Blade-Tech products), and other equipment as detailed below. One of the main blocks of instruction for this class is selection of a good quality concealed carry holster. For this class, you only need a safe holster for range work, and we would recommend you wait until after the class to purchase an expensive concealed carry holster, unless you already have one.

Prerequisites: Completion of the Firearms Academy Handgun Safety Seminar. Students in this class will be required to sign a statement that they are legally entitled to own handguns prior to participation.

Class Dates:
Feb. 11, 2017
April 1, 2017-Sorry! Class Full!
June 3, 2017
Sept. 17, 2017
Oct. 22, 2017

Tuition: $185
Register Now

Concealed Carry 101 Equipment List

  1. Your own gun (must be a revolver or semi-automatic pistol of .380 caliber or larger).
  2. Two magazines or speedloaders for your gun.
  3. 200 rounds of full metal jacket (FMJ) or jacketed hollow point (JHP) ammunition.
  4. PLEASE BE SURE YOUR HOLSTER MEETS THESE REQUIREMENTS: A belt holster (range holster or high quality concealment holster) with covered trigger guard designed to be worn on your strong side (right handed persons wear on right hip) attached to a sturdy belt threaded through trouser belt loops. Holster used must be rigid and remain open after the gun is withdrawn. If you are shopping for a good range holster, we recommend you contact Blade-Tech at 253-655-8059 or www.blade-tech.com. If you have any questions about this equipment please call right away so we help you obtain the right gear. (Please, no fanny packs, purse holsters, shoulder holsters, small-of-the back holsters, appendix holsters, or holsters made of such a soft material that they collapse when the gun is withdrawn).
  5. Ear muffs for hearing protection, wrap-around impact-resistant eye protection and a billed cap
  6. A vest or large overshirt to serve as a cover garment.
  7. A pen and notebook.
  8. Please bring a sack lunch and beverages--we will eat during classroom lecture.
  9. Wear clothing and shoes suitable for spending long periods of time outdoors during the season in which your class is scheduled. Ranges are covered and graveled.

Classes Starting On

Sat May 06, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction-Class Full!
Sat May 06, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat May 13, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat May 20, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar-Class Full!
Sat May 20, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 03, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Jun 03, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Mon Jun 05, 2017
Weeklong Handgun
Sat Jun 10, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 10, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Weak Hand Shooting
Sat Jun 24, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Jul 01, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Wounded/Downed Defender
Fri Jul 07, 2017
IDPA Boot Camp
Sun Jul 09, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jul 15, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Speed Handgun
Sat Jul 22, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Jul 29, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 05, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Aug 12, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 26, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Sep 09, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Sep 16, 2017
Special Interest Seminar: Pocket Guns
Sun Sep 17, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Sep 23, 2017
Active Shooter Interdiction
Fri Sep 29, 2017
Level 4 Handgun
Sat Sep 30, 2017
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Oct 07, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Oct 14, 2017
Shot Placement and Considerations for Deadly Encounters
Sun Oct 15, 2017
Emergency Treatment of Gunshot Wounds & Related Trauma
Sat Oct 21, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Oct 22, 2017
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 28, 2017
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Advanced Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 04, 2017
Handgun Retention
Sat Nov 11, 2017
Tactical Handgun
Sat Nov 18, 2017
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Dec 02, 2017
Defensive Handgun

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Computer Connections