• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Level 1: Concealed Carry 101

Concealed Carry 101 was born out of the need to quickly and efficiently get students "up and running" with self-defense and concealed carry handgun skills. Information covered in this class includes: holster selection and carry methods, drawing from concealment, concealed carry wardrobe options, reloading and malfunction clearing, ammunition selection, and a variety of marksmanship skill building drills.

Our affordable Handgun Safety Seminar, a very popular program introduced in 2002, teaches the laws and Use of Force doctrine that is an inseparable part of the topic of carrying guns for self-defense. Thus, the Handgun Safety Seminar is a non-negotiable prerequisite for Concealed Carry 101, even for registrants who have participated in other gun safety programs. We recommend that you to wait to enroll in Concealed Carry 101 (or any of our classes!) until you have completed the Handgun Safety Seminar, so you can benefit from an instructor's guidance about which class will best meet your training needs as your skills may exceed the basics taught in this class, making you a better candidate for Defensive Handgun class.

Students must provide their own handgun, a range or concealment holster of good quality (if you need to purchase one, we recommend Blade-Tech products), and other equipment as detailed below. One of the main blocks of instruction for this class is selection of a good quality concealed carry holster. For this class, you only need a safe holster for range work, and we would recommend you wait until after the class to purchase an expensive concealed carry holster, unless you already have one.

Prerequisites: Completion of the Firearms Academy Handgun Safety Seminar. Students in this class will be required to sign a statement that they are legally entitled to own handguns prior to participation.

Class Dates:
March 4, 2018
May 6, 2018
August 5, 2018
October 21, 2018

Tuition: $185
Register Now

Concealed Carry 101 Equipment List

  1. Your own gun (must be a revolver or semi-automatic pistol of .380 caliber or larger).
  2. Two magazines or speedloaders for your gun.
  3. 200 rounds of full metal jacket (FMJ) or jacketed hollow point (JHP) ammunition.
  4. PLEASE BE SURE YOUR HOLSTER MEETS THESE REQUIREMENTS: A belt holster (range holster or high quality concealment holster) with covered trigger guard designed to be worn on your strong side (right handed persons wear on right hip) attached to a sturdy belt threaded through trouser belt loops. Holster used must be rigid and remain open after the gun is withdrawn. If you are shopping for a good range holster, we recommend you contact Blade-Tech at 253-655-8059 or www.blade-tech.com. If you have any questions about this equipment please call right away so we help you obtain the right gear. (Please, no fanny packs, purse holsters, shoulder holsters, small-of-the back holsters, appendix holsters, or holsters made of such a soft material that they collapse when the gun is withdrawn).
  5. Ear muffs for hearing protection, wrap-around impact-resistant eye protection and a billed cap
  6. A vest or large overshirt to serve as a cover garment.
  7. A pen and notebook.
  8. Please bring a sack lunch and beverages--we will eat during classroom lecture.
  9. Wear clothing and shoes suitable for spending long periods of time outdoors during the season in which your class is scheduled. Ranges are covered and graveled.

Classes Starting On

Sat Feb 17, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Feb 24, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sat Mar 03, 2018
Mini Baton/Pepper Spray
Sun Mar 04, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sun Mar 11, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Mar 24, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Mar 31, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Apr 14, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Apr 28, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat May 05, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun May 06, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sun May 13, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Fri May 18, 2018
IDPA Boot Camp
Sat May 19, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Fri Jun 01, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Mon Jun 04, 2018
Weeklong Handgun
Sun Jun 10, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Accuracy
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Jun 16, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Jun 23, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Fri Jul 06, 2018
IDPA Boot Camp
Sun Jul 15, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Moving Targets/Moving Shooters
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Aug 04, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Aug 05, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Aug 18, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Aug 25, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sat Sep 08, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sun Sep 09, 2018
Special Interest Seminar: Handgun Tune Up
Fri Sep 14, 2018
Advanced Defensive Handgun
Sat Sep 22, 2018
Active Shooter Interdiction
Sat Oct 06, 2018
Tactical Handgun
Sun Oct 07, 2018
Handgun Safety Seminar
Sat Oct 20, 2018
Fundamentals of Home Defense
Sun Oct 21, 2018
Concealed Carry 101
Sat Oct 27, 2018
Defensive Handgun
Sat Nov 03, 2018
Handgun Retention
Sun Nov 04, 2018
Advanced Handgun Retention

Selected Classes




No Classes Selected.

(C) The Firearms Academy of Seattle, Inc. | Developed By Images by Murray